Payment Options

 

Wise County Texas
Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1
Honorable Judge Jan Morrow

 

Home Criminal Civil Payment Options Forms Jurors FAQs County Holidays Weddings OCA 

Constable Dennis Hudson

Texas Rules of Civil Procedure Part V. Rules of Practice In Justice Courts
(Effective September 1, 2013; Amended September 1, 2016)

Texas Rules of Evidence

Chapter 15, Subchapter E of the Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code
 

State Law Library Self-Help

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS FOR EXTENSIONS AND PAYMENT PLANS 

  1. Do I have to drive to Decatur to the JP Office?  No, you may request an application from the Justice of the Peace (JP) office or you can download the application from the JP#1 web site and then mail or fax the completed application to the court.  We will verify at least 2 contact numbers.  Once a payment agreement is established you will be mailed a copy of the agreement.  The payment agreement may be signed at the JP#1 office when the payment is made OR the signed agreement may be mailed along with your first payment to the Court.  Failure to pay your fines and court costs will result in a warrant for your immediate arrest and/or a hold being placed on your driver’s license.

 

  1. Do I need to make a payment today?  How much?  In most cases, you will have 10 days from the date of sentencing to pay your fine in full or request a payment plan.  If you request a payment plan, a significant payment will be required the day of sentencing or within 72 hours.  A $25 “time payment fee” is assessed per case for any payment plan.

 

  1. What happens if I do not contact the Court and execute my Court ordered payment plan?  A warrant will be issued for your immediate arrest and/or there will be a hold placed on your driver’s license through the OMNI Datasystem.  It is the defendant’s responsibility to complete their financial responsibility and to advise the Court of any address changes.

 

  1. What happens if I do not fill out my application in full?  You will be asked to complete the application and failure to do so will delay the process.  If you do not know the answer to the question write “I do not know” or place a question mark where your answer should be.  If a question does not apply to your circumstances write N/A (non-applicable).  All the spaces must be filled in for the application to be complete.

 

  1. Will the information I give on the application be verified and checked?  Yes, some of the information will be verified before you leave.  Other items will be checked after your payment plan is signed and executed.

 

  1. What happens if I do not tell the truth on the application?  Giving wrongful or false information on your application may result in your prosecution for the offense of aggravated perjury, a felony punishable by imprisonment no to exceed ten (10) years and a fine not to exceed ten thousand ($10,000) or both fine and imprisonment.

 

  1. During the 10 days after sentencing and before I must enter a payment plan, can I pay it off in full early?  How?  Yes, you may go to the JP#1 office and pay with cash, money order, or cashier’s check in person or you may pay by mail.  You may also pay on-line with a credit or debit card, however; you must contact the Court for information on your case before doing this, and there is a convenience fee added.  No personal checks accepted.

 

  1. What happens if I make a payment and forget to make the rest?  You will be notified by phone and given written notice when you become delinquent on your payments.  If you do not comply with all the provisions of your Court ordered payment plan, at some point your case will be remanded to the OMNI Datasystem to place a hold on your driver’s license and/or a warrant will be issued for your arrest.

 

  1. How long do I have to pay out my fines, court costs and fees?  The majority of the payment plans are structured where 100% of your fines, court costs and fees will be paid within thirty days of your court sentence.

 

Payment Options

The Court accepts money orders, cashier’s checks, and cash at our office located at 205 N. State Street, Decatur Texas Monday through Friday 8:00 am until Noon and 1:00 pm until 5:00pm.

Money orders and cashier’s checks are accepted by mail at: P.O. Box 509, Decatur, TX  76234, while credit and debit cards are accepted on the internet through Official Payments or by calling Official Payments at 1-800-272-9829.

WE DO NOT ACCEPT PERSONAL CHECKS ON ANY FINES

STOP

 BEFORE MAKING A PAYMENT VIA CREDIT CARD YOU MUST FIRST CALL THE COURT TO GET ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION FOR PROPER PROCESSING OF YOUR PAYMENT.

Court phone number (940) 627-2694

YOU WILL NEED TO KNOW THE FOLLOWING BEFORE PROCEEDING WITH YOUR PAYMENT:

  1. AMOUNT THAT YOU NEED TO PAY – (CREDIT CARD PAYMENTS ARE NOT ACCEPTED FOR PARTIAL PAYMENTS)
  2. DOCKET NUMBER OR CAUSE NUMBER & DRIVER’S LICENCE NUMBER.
  3. JURISDICTION CODE #: 7301    
  4. A CONVENIENCE FEE  OF $5.95 WILL BE CHARGED TO MAKE YOUR PAYMENT   
  5. BE SURE TO GET THE CONFIRMATION NUMBER WHEN MAKING YOUR PAYMENT.

THE FOLLOWING TYPES OF CASES CANNOT BE PAID ONLINE AND YOU MUST CONTACT THE APPROPRIATE COURT.

  1. Juveniles (under age 17) MUST appear in person with a parent or guardian
  2. Minors over age 17 charged with alcohol, tobacco and failure to attend school offenses must make a personal appearance in court with a parent or legal guardian.
  3. Alcohol related offenses carry additional requirements and therefore must be paid directly to the Court.
  4. No partial payments accepted.
  5. Driving Safety Course Deferral must be negotiated through the Court.

IF YOU ARE IN THE OMNIDATA SYSTEM AND YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE CANNOT BE RENEWED OR IF YOU HAVE A WARRANT FOR YOUR ARREST YOU MUST CONTACT THIS OFFICE BY PHONE OR APPEAR IN PERSON 

PLEASE BE AWARE that by paying online through this service YOU WILL BE ENTERING A PLEA OF NO CONTEST AND WAIVING A JURY TRIAL FOR THE CHARGES AGAINST YOU.  (Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 27.14 (c) states:  “In a misdemeanor case for which the maximum possible punishment is by fine only, payment of a fine or an amount accepted by the Court constitutes a finding of guilty in open Court as though a plea of nolo contendere had been entered by the defendant and constitutes a waiver of a jury trial in writing.”    Your citation will be reported to the Department of Public Safety and may have points and/or surcharges assessed. 

ONCE YOU HAVE READ ALL THE INFORMATION ABOVE, PLEASE CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW AND YOU WILL BE REDIRECTED TO OFFICIAL PAYMENTS.  INSTRUCTIONS ARE AVAILABLE IN BOTH ENGLISH AND SPANISH.

Pay Online

Web Payment Instructions Instrucciones para hacer pagos atreves del Internet
  1. Go to www.officialpayments.com
  2. Choose Make a Payment
  3. Choose Local Payment
  4. Choose State (or Jurisdiction Code #7301)
  5. Choose Payment Entity
  6. Choose Payment Type, Choose Continue
  7. Enter Amount, Choose Continue
  8. Read Terms, Choose Accept
  9. Enter Payment Information,  Choose Continue
  10. Review Information, Choose Submit
  11. Receive Confirmation Number*

*Your Confirmation Number acts as your receipt, if you do not get a confirmation number your payment was not processed.

  1. Ir a www.officialpayments.com

  2. Elegir hacer un pago

  3. Escoger pago local

  4. Poner el número de jurisdicción 7301

  5. Escoger el tipo de pago que desea hacer y apretar continuar

  6. Poner la cantidad del pago deseada y apretar continuar

  7. Leer los términos de uso del servicio y aceptarlos

  8. Entrar toda la información personal y apretar continuar

  9. Revisar la información y luego apretar el botón para procesar el pago

Su número de confirmación será su recibo de pago si usted no recibe un numero de confirmación el pago no fue procesado.

Defendant's Plea