Wise County Justice of the Peace
Precinct 2
Honorable Judge Callie Manning

NEW JUSTICE COURT RULES (Effective 9-1-2013)

Texas Rules of Evidence (Effective 03-01-2013)
 

Justice of the Peace, Pct 2 Home

IBC Checks

Filing a Case in Justice Court

Criminal Traffic

Occupational Driver License

Marriage Licenses

Courtroom Attire

Precinct 2 Map

Parent/Teen Resources

Office Motto

Constable Pct 2

Juvenile Offenders

Truancy/Fail to Attend

Ticket Flow Chart

Commercial Drivers

Court Fees

OCA Reports

TRAFFIC/CRIMINAL OFFENSES

Alcohol Related Offenses By Minors
Deferred Disposition
Driver Safety Course
High School

Payment Methods (non-Deferred)
Plea Form
Ticket Flow Chart
Affidavit of Military Status
Deferred Request Form (Traffic)
Deferred Request Form (non-Traffic)
Deferred Affidavit


Payment Methods

  • Credit or debit payments
  • We accept money orders, cashierís checks, credit cards, and cash. 
  • We allow Time Payout Agreements under certain conditions, there is an additional $25 fee added to the fine if not paid within 30 days from date of agreement.  The additional fee is a requirement by State Law and CAN NOT be waived.  You must appear in person to request a Time Payout Agreement.  Time Payout Agreements are not available for out-of-state residents.
WE DO NOT ACCEPT PERSONAL CHECKS ON ANY FINES

HOW PAYMENTS CAN BE MADE

    • Payments can be made in person at the office or mailed to the court at Justice of the Peace, Pct. 2, PO Box 1534, Decatur, Texas 76234. Please DO NOT mail cash.
    • Payments can be made by credit card or debit card on-line at www.officialpayments.com (enter jurisdiction code 6621) or by telephone at 1-800-272-9829 (enter jurisdiction code 6621).

YOU MUST CONTACT THIS COURT FOR YOUR CASE NUMBER AND THE TOTAL AMOUNT DUE TO THE COURT BEFORE MAKING A PAYMENT ON-LINE OR BY PHONE.

 BEFORE MAKING A PAYMENT VIA CREDIT CARD YOU MUST FIRST CALL THE COURT TO GET ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION FOR PROPER PROCESSING OF YOUR PAYMENT.

Court phone number (940) 626-4206

  YOU WILL NEED TO KNOW THE FOLLOWING BEFORE PROCEEDING WITH YOUR PAYMENT:

  1. AMOUNT THAT YOU NEED TO PAY Ė CREDIT CARD PAYMENTS ARE NOT ACCEPTED FOR PARTIAL PAYMENTS
  2. DOCKET NUMBER OR CAUSE NUMBER
  3. JURISDICTION CODE #: 6621 CONVENIENCE FEE IS CHARGED   
  4. BE SURE TO GET THE CONFIRMATION NUMBER WHEN MAKING YOUR PAYMENT.

IF YOU ARE IN THE OMNIDATA SYSTEM AND YOUR DRIVERíS LICENSE CANNOT BE RENEWED OR IF YOU HAVE A WARRANT FOR YOUR ARREST YOU MUST CONTACT THIS OFFICE BY PHONE OR APPEAR IN PERSON 

Back to Top


Deferred Disposition

Deferred Request Form (Traffic)
Deferred Request Form (non-Traffic)

Deferred Affidavit

Requirements for consideration of Deferred Disposition in Justice Court, Precinct 2: 

YOU CANNOT REQUEST DEFERRED IF CHARGED WITH THE FOLLOWING:

  • A violation that occurred in a Construction Zone with Workers Present 

  • A serious traffic violations 

  • Speeding violations of more than 24 mph over the speed limit

  • Charged with a speed of 95 mph or more even if the charge is less than 24 mph over the speed limit

  • Commercial Drivers License Holders

Plea and Enclosures

  • A defendant must enter a plea of no contest or guilty to request Deferred Disposition in person or by mail, (if mailed, please send a self addressed stamped envelope and call Court for amount owed

  • A copy of your personal insurance card 

  • A copy of your driverís license 

  • A Drivers Safety Course will be ordered when there has been an accident 

  • A Drivers Safety Course will be ordered if under the age of 25 at the time of the offense 

  • A Driving Test with the Department of Public Safety will be ordered if you have a ďprovisionalĒ drivers license 

Payment Method for Deferred Disposition

Cash only if in person, via mail, Cashier's Check or Money Order, Credit Card 
*NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED* 

Back to Top


High School

ALL STUDENTS OF WISE COUNTY REGARDLESS OF AGE MUST CONTACT THE COURT (940) 626-4206.


Alcohol Related Offenses by Minors

IF YOU HAVE RECEIVED A CITATION OR HAVE BEEN ARRESTED FOR THE FOLLOWING OFFENSES, YOU MUST APPEAR IN PERSON BEFORE JUDGE JOHNSON WITHIN TEN DAYS OF THE CITATION ISSUED OR TEN DAYS AFTER YOU HAVE BEEN RELEASED FROM CUSTODY.

WARNING

FAILURE TO APPEAR MAY RESULT IN YOUR DRIVERíS LICENSE BEING SUSPENDED

OFFENSES:

Art. 106.02. Purchase Alcohol by a Minor: A minor commits an offense if the minor purchases an alcoholic beverage.

Art. 106.025. Attempt to Purchase Alcohol by a Minor: A minor commits an offense if the minor does an act amounting to more than mere preparation that tends, but fails to effect the commission of the offense intended.

Art. 106.04. Consumption of Alcohol by a Minor: A minor commits an offense if the minor consumes an alcoholic beverage outside the visible presence of his parent/guardian or adult spouse.

Art. 106.05. Possession of Alcohol by a Minor: A minor commits an offense if the minor possesses an alcoholic beverage outside the visible presence of his parent/guardian or adult spouse or outside the scope of a function of his employment.

Art. 106.07. Misrepresentation of age by a Minor: A minor commits an offense if the minor falsely states that he is 21 years of age or older or presents any document that indicates he is 21 years of age or older to a person engaged in selling or serving alcoholic beverages.

Art. 106.041. Driving under the influence of alcohol by a Minor: A minor commits an offense if the minor operates a motor vehicle in a public place while having any detectable amount of alcohol in the minorís system.

PC Art. 49.02. Public Intoxication by a Minor: A minor commits an offense in the minor appears in a public place while intoxicated to the degree that the minor may endanger himself or another person.

SANCTIONS:

Art 106.071. Punishment for alcohol related offenses by a minor:

Payment of Court Cost 
Fine Range is $1.00 to $500.00 
8 to 12 hours Community Service 
Driverís License Suspension of 30 days (AT THE COURTíS DISCRETION) 
Completion of an Alcohol Awareness Course within 90 days 

FAILURE TO COMPLETE PENALTIES:

Art. 106.115. The court shall order the Department of Public Safety to suspend the defendantís driverís license for a period not to exceed six (6) months or to deny issuance of a license for the same period.

Back to Top

 


Driver Safety Course

You may be eligible to take a Driving Safety Course if you are charged with a moving violation other than speeding 25 miles over the posted speed limit, have not taken a Driving Safety Course within the past 12 months and did not commit any of the following offenses:

  • Sec. 545.066 passing a school bus
  • Sec. 545.421 fleeing or attempting to elude a police officer
  • Sec. 550.022 accident involving damage to vehicle
  • Sec. 550.023 duty to give information and render aid
  • Sec. 522.003 serious traffic violation which concerns a commercial motor vehicle
  • Sec. 542.404 construction zone WITH workers present.

CDL HOLDERS ARE NOT ELIGIBLE

Instructions to Request Driver Safety Course

To qualify for a Driving Safety Course you must present to the Court in person an oral or written request to take the Driving Safety Course; or mail a written request to take the Driving Safety Course, post marked on or before the plea due date on the notice to appear.

You will need to pay $112.10 at the time of your request by Cashierís Check, Credit Card, or Money Order. We accept cash if paying in person.

Upon the Courtís receipt of the request and $112.10 payment, you will receive the affidavit and instructions. The Court shall defer the proceedings and allow a person 90 days to complete a Driving Safety Course. The person will be required to present a uniform certificate of course completion as written evidence that after the alleged violation the person successfully completed a Driving Safety Course approved by the Texas Education Agency by the given 90 day due date.

DO NOT TAKE THE DRIVING SAFETY COURSE UNTIL YOU HAVE RECEIVED PERMISSION FROM THE COURT

When making your request you will need to:

  1. Enter a plea of either no contest or guilty along with a written request to take a Driving Safety Course.
  2. You must provide a copy of your Driverís License. You must have a valid Texas Driverís license.
  3. You must provide proof of financial responsibility. Your name must appear on the insurance card or policy and must be in effect at the time you make your request.
  4. Include the $112.10 court cost by money order, cashierís check, or credit card.

NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED. 

IF YOU ARE 16 YEARS OLD OR YOUNGER YOU MUST APPEAR IN PERSON WITH A PARENT OR LEGAL GUARDIAN BEFORE JUDGE JOHNSON.

ALL STUDENTS IN WISE COUNTY MUST CONTACT THE COURT REGARDLESS OF AGE. (940) 626-4206

Back to Top


PLEASE NOTE WHEN CONTACTING A COURT

"A judge shall not initiate, permit, or consider ex parte or other communications made to the judge outside the presence of the parties....concerning the merits of a pending or impending judicial proceeding. A judge shall require compliance with this subsection by court personnel subject to his or her direction and control..." Code of Judicial Conduct, Canon 3, Section B. (8).