Marriage License Information
September 1, 2013
The marriage license expiration date has changed from 30 days to 90 days.
Texas Family Code, Sec. 2.201. EXPIRATION OF LICENSE. If a marriage ceremony has not been conducted before the 90th day after the date the license is issued, the marriage license expires.
Marriage License Application
Certified Copy of Marriage License Request Form
To obtain a marriage license both parties must be present and provide proof of age and identification. You must be 18 years or older. There is a 72 hour waiting period after the license is issued before you can get married and the license is only good for 90 days. Please be sure you know your social security number and the city, county and state in which you were born before you come in to apply for a license.
Q. What types of identification are needed?
A. In order to obtain a marriage license both parties must be present proof of identity and age. Examples include, State issued driverís license, military ID, passport, visa, or state issued ID. A certified copy of a birth certificate may be used along with one other form of ID. Please note that the ID presented will be the name used on the Marriage License.
Q. What is the age requirement to get married?
A. Effective September 1, 2017 pursuant to S.B No. 1705 Texas Family Code Sec. 2.003 was amended. A person under 18 years of age may not marry unless the person has been granted by this state or another state a court order removing the disabilities of minority of the applicant for general purpose.
Q. Is there a waiting period before the license can be
A. There is a 72 hour waiting period before the license can be used after it is issued. The 72 hour waiting period can be waived if you (a) are active military duty (b) have attended and received a certificate from the State of Texas marriage education course Twogether in Texas or (c) obtain a waiver from the district or county judge.
Q. How long is the Marriage License good for?
A. The Marriage License if good for 90 days after issuance.
Q. How much does it cost to obtain a marriage license?
A. The fee for a Formal Marriage License in Wise County is $88.00 and the cost for an Informal Marriage License (Common Law) is $53.00. Marriage licenses are CASH ONLY. If you have completed the state marital education course Twogether in Texas then $60.00 will be deducted from the fee of a formal marriage license. You can obtain more information about the Twogether in Texas program by visiting their website Twogether in Texas. You must bring the certificate from the education course with you when you obtain the license to have the $60.00 deducted.